Location Map

The Kosi River, or Sapt Koshi, drains eastern up. It is known as Sapta Koshi because of the seven rivers which join together in east-central Nepal to form this river. The main rivers forming the Sapta Koshi River system are – the Sun Koshi , the Indravati River , the tama Koshi, the Dudh Koshi , the Arun River , Tamor River and Likhu River. The Dudh Kosi river originates from the high-altitude areas of Mount Everest (8848 metres) and the snow and glacier melt contributes significant portion of streamflow, especially during the dry season. The combined river flows through the Chatra Gorge in a southerly direction to emerge from the hills.

Categories: Places


Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *